Last Words of a Syrian Child

umayyad_mosque2c_aleppo2c_syria_28507786583029

Image: Children in Aleppo (see below for attribution)

 

 

The gas fumes

float

suspended through air

carrying with them

hate

destruction

and greed.

 

We are but children

who want

what any other child.

To play, to love

to laugh, to live.

 

My eyes burn

and I can’t breath.

My lungs are filled

with poison.

I lie here,

helpless,

amid the destruction.

Blinded by

the gas,

the hurt,

the extermination

of my people.

 

My skin peels off

in layers,

while wealthy

so called “leaders”

strategize

for control,

power,

money,

and the material.

 

While they send

poisonous tweets

and commission

software to

engineer and manipulate

the minds of the masses.

While they try

to cover their sins

by accusing others

of their own deeds.

By killing them.

By turning a blind eye

on the human massacre

they caused.

 

I hear the frantic cries

of my brothers and sisters

my mother

my father

and others,

cradled by the same dirt

that once witnessed

science, math

and astronomy marvels.

The same dust now holding

the relic of

the most ancient church

on earth.

The same soil on which St. Paul

set foot and

became a believer

at Antioch.

 

Why is this happening?

What have we done to

deserve such fate?

We are humans like

anyone else.

 

I leave my life in this

forsaken place,

now my tomb.

While the privileged

carve labyrinths of despair

and use their

beaming powers

to destroy what

others worked so

hard to erect.

 

For the sake of glory,

and fame.

Fueled by avarice

rage

and vengeance.

Not faith.

 

I am now one

with this clay.

It holds my tears,

my blood

my pain.

 

History repeats itself.

But history will not forgive.

And history will not forget.

 

___________________

My heart aches for the people of Syria.

Image: Children in Aleppo bBy yeowatzup from Katlenburg-Lindau, Germany (Umayyad Mosque, Aleppo, Syria) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons.

Copyright © 2017 Yasmin Tirado-Chiodini. All Rights Reserved.This content is provided under a Creative Commons License.

 

About tiradochiodini

I am a attorney, entrepreneur and author blogging about business, law, entrepreneurship, writing, books and other subjects.
This entry was posted in General, My writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

